The European Mies van der Rohe Prize brings together 420 nominated projects for 2015 | New

A total of 420 projects across Europe have been nominated to compete for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture 2015 – Mies van der Rohe Prize, considered the highest prize in European architecture for projects less than 2 years old. The biennial prize of € 60,000 was initiated in 1987 by the European Commission and Barcelona City Hall to highlight recent projects that illustrate the prize’s mission to foster design and technological innovation as well as the remarkable contributions of architects from across the continent. The award also gives an insight into the evolution of the creative process of today’s architects working in Europe.

With 420 nominees, it may still be too early to predict which projects will be shortlisted and then finalists by the end of January 2015.

Here are some of the 2015 nominees:

Spots – a conversion of old transformer stations in Košice, Slovakia by Architektonické štúdio Atrium

Hideg House in Kőszeg, Hungary by Béres Architects

The Library Learning Center, Vienna University of Economics and Business in Vienna, Austria by Zaha Hadid Architects

Danish Maritime Museum in Helsingør, Denmark by BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group

FRAC Center – Permanent and temporary exhibition rooms in Orléans, France by Jakob + Macfarlane

Museum for architectural drawing in Berlin, Germany by nps tchoban voss

The Court of Justice of Hasselt, Belgium by J. Mayer H.

MMMMMS House in Girona, Spain by Anna & Eugeni Bach

The projects are nominated by individual experts from across Europe as well as by members of the Council of Architects of Europe, the Prize Advisory Committee and various national associations of architects. The list of previous big winners gives an idea of ​​the quality of the prize, or at least of what attracts the jury. This includes many globally recognized names like David Chipperfield Architects, SNØHETTA, Zaha Hadid, OMA, Nicholas Grimshaw, Peter Zumthor, Dominique Perrault, Foster + Partners, Álvaro Siza Vieira and Henning Larsen Architects.

In addition to the grand prize, early career professionals can compete for the Emerging Architect Award (€ 20,000), while the new Young Talent Architecture Prize (YTAP) will recognize the best master’s projects in Europe for current students. .

Click on the thumbnail below to discover other projects that caught our attention. You can also check out the full list here.

Previous WholeTrees Expands With Help from WEDC | Local News
Next Music from Liverpool: DROHNE buzz band of the week

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.