New architecture and design competitions: UIA 2030 Award, Wege Prize, Steedman Fellowship and Female Design Council + NICOLEHOLLIS Grant | New


San Francisco during the Labor Day wildfires, September 2020. The new UIA 2030 awards program is currently researching the best sustainable urban development concepts (details below). Photo: Patrick Perkins / Unsplash.

For our latest weekly architectural and design competition selections listed on Bustler, we have selected four challenges calling for innovative design solutions contributing to a circular economy, architectural concepts seeking to disrupt old failed modes of operation, designers promising women of BIPOC and architects and have built projects that make a significant contribution to the United Nations 2030 Agenda for sustainable development.

For the full directory of newly listed competitions, click here.

Wege Price 2022
Registration / submission deadline: Monday, November 1, 2021

Open to undergraduate, graduate and graduate students from around the world, the Kendall College of Art and Design at Ferris State University (KCAD) has expanded its international design competition, the Wege Prize 2022, a global competition of design which testifies to the motivation of the students to rethink the way we produce and consume, to rethink the functioning of economies and to build a better future. […] Teams compete for a total of $ 65,000 in cash prizes while engaging in a valuable learning experience guided by multiple feedback loops with expert jurors in circular economy, sustainability, design thinking, materials science, user experience design, biomimicry, and more. “

Steedman Scholarship 2021: Disruption
Registration / submission deadline: Monday, November 15, 2021

“We live in disruptive times as we live in the Anthropocene, defined by the climate crisis resulting in unprecedented current and future weather extremes and an ongoing global pandemic, as well as centuries of systemic racism that must be addressed. In order to quickly move away from current trajectories, the IPCC called for an urgent disruption to change course. Radical solutions are needed at all scales and all systems. How does architecture, in all its modalities, disrupt and bring about change? How can architecture have a measurable impact? What are the disruptions to be defined for the next decade? And will they redefine design? The Steedman is an award that encourages international research in architecture through surveys outside its home country. In light of COVID-19 and climate crises, special attention will be given to creative proposals that minimize carbon footprint. “

Women’s Design Council + NICOLEHOLLIS Grant
Registration / submission deadline: Wednesday December 15, 2021

“The Female Design Council and NICOLEHOLLIS are pleased to announce the FDC + NICOLEHOLLIS grant, a financial grant dedicated to female designers and architects at BIPOC. The Female Design Council and NICOLEHOLLIS recognize the importance of supporting identified creative women and are committed to directly providing funding and mentoring to BIPOC women through this unique interior design and architecture grant. The FDC + NICOLEHOLLIS grant will provide a financial grant of $ 15,000 to a WOC-led interior design / architecture company or individual in the United States. The grant is intended to provide the financial support necessary to expand the size of the business and / or produce new design collections. The winners will also receive professional mentoring from the NICOLEHOLLIS team. “

UIA 2030 Prize
Registration / submission deadline: Monday January 3, 2022

“The UIA, in partnership with UN-Habitat, launched the UIA 2030 Prize to promote the work of architects contributing to the achievement of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for sustainable development as well as the New Urban Agenda. The biennial award, synchronized with the World Urban Forum, invites all architects around the world to submit nominations for constructed projects that demonstrate design quality and have made a significant contribution to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in six categories. The first cycle of the UIA Prize (2021 – 2022) is now open for registration. “

If you would like to contribute to any contests, rewards programs, or calls for entries that are not yet listed on Bustler, send them directly to our team for review. We could include them in next week’s roundup.

If you are curious about Bustler’s broad advertising strategies for architecture and design competitions, contact us and our team will be happy to strategize with you.

Some ongoing contests on Bustler that might interest you …

Legendary Birdhouse 2021

Register before Tue Nov 2, 2021

Submit by Tue Dec 7 2021

MICROHOME 2021 – Small living room, huge impact!

Register before Tue Nov 2, 2021

Submit by Tue Dec 7 2021

The memorial of the last genocide

Register before Friday, November 12, 2021

Submit by Thu. December 16, 2021

Iceland greenhouse restaurant

Register before the Thu 11 Nov 2021

Submit by Wednesday December 15, 2021

Previous Swinerton speeds up construction projects with Matterport, reducing travel costs by 50%
Next Public health leaders must focus on the goodwill of the people

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.